Traveling World

Innsbruck, Austria - attractions, pictures

Innsbruck - the capital of Tyrol, a city with a population of slightly more than 100 thousand people. Innsbruck is located in the valley, but the height is decent and around the mountain, so the weather can be quite unpredictable - I was at the end of March, but in the morning it was quite heavy snow.
Innsbruck - the capital of the Winter Olympic Games in 1964 and 1976.
The easiest way to get in Innsbruck is use the land transport. The nearest major city is Munich, (about 150 km.) There are no problems with public transport - trains run from Vienna through Salzburg. From any neighboring country can also be reached by train. The airport in Innsbruck is available and even international, but there are few flights, almost all seasonal - for skiers.
The sights of Innsbruck are mainly located in and around the Historic Center. This is a small area (about 1 sq. km.) between the Inn and its tributary Zill.

Inspection of Innsbruck is more logical to start from the north of the Old City - from the railway station to go one quarter to the right and on the street of St. Trinity (Dreihayligen Straße) turn left.
The nearest church on this street is called Dreihaligenkirche, but it's just an indication of the location. Church  dedicated to the saints Sebastian, Pirmin, Roch and Alexius, and was built in record time (for 2 years), in hopes of getting rid of the plague epidemic. This area was outside the city walls and a plague hospital was located nearby. In the XVIII century the building was rebuilt in rococo style.

 

 Innsbruck. St. Trinity Church

St. Trinity Church
Dreiheiligenkirche (XVII-XVIII century)

 

Drehayligenstrasse passes to the Univesitytsstrasse, which houses the Jesuitenkirche, considered the earliest example of baroque in Innsbruck.

 

 Innsbruck. The Jesuit Church of St. Trinity

The Jesuit Church of St. Trinity
Jesuitenkirche-Dreifaltigkeitskirche (XVII century)

 

 Innsbruck. The Jesuit Church of St. Trinity

The Jesuit Church of St. Trinity
Jesuitenkirche-Dreifaltigkeitskirche (XVII century)

 

Further - the university campus and Hofkirche, also called Franciscanercirche, since it is the church of the Franciscan monastery. Hofkirche was built as a place for the tomb of Emperor Maximilian I, but in the end, his burial is in Wiener Neustadt, and in the Innsbruck church there was just that "place" - a magnificent tombstone.

 

 Innsbruck. Hofkirche

Hofkirche
Hofkirche (XVI-XVII century)

 

 Innsbruck. Hofkirche

Hofkirche
Hofkirche (XVI-XVII century)

 

The University Street turns onto Rennweg Street, where the Tyrolean State Theater is located. It exists since the middle of the 17th century, but the current building is new - the last reconstruction was completed in 1967.

 

 Innsbruck. Tyrolean State Theater

Tyrolean State Theater
Tiroler Landestheater Innsbruck (XIX-XX century)

 

On the contrary - Hofburg, the Imperial Palace in Innsbruck. From the original design, there is little left - emperors loved to live in comfort. :) The current view of the Hofburg Palace is the result of a Baroque reconstruction commissioned by Maria Theresa (XVIII century) and adapted on the model of the Vienna Schönbrunn in 1858.

 

 Innsbruck. Hofburg Palace

Hofburg Palace
Hofburg (XVI-XIX century)

 

The back wall of the Innsbruck Dom - the Cathedral of St. James - is also on the same street. The Diocese of Innsbruck was established only in 1968, and before that, the cathedral served as an ordinary parish church. A impression of the building could not be made, since the facade was completely closed in the process of restoration .

 

 Innsbruck. Cathedral of St. Jacob

Cathedral of St. Jacob
Innsbrucker Dom zu St. Jakob (XVIII century)

 

 Innsbruck. Cathedral of St. Jacob

Cathedral of St. Jacob
Innsbrucker Dom zu St. Jakob (XVIII century)

  

The cathedral is on the northern edge of the historic center of Innsbruck. Further, beyond the river are new districts that look very pretty.

 

 Innsbruck Modern

Modern Innsbruck

 

The central street of the old Innsbruck is the Herzog-Friedrichstrasse, passing into the Mariateresienstrasse.

 

 Innsbruck

Innsbruck

 

 Innsbruck

Innsbruck

 

 Innsbruck. The hospital church in Maria Theresa Street

 The hospital church in Maria Theresa Street
Spitalskirche (XVIII century)

 

 Innsbruck. Innsbruck

Innsbruck

 

Helblinghouse is a house that has existed since the 15th century, but gained popularity thanks to the magnificent Baroque façade of the 18th century. Helling is the surname of one of the owners of the house.

 

 Innsbruck. Helblinghouse

Helblinghouse
Helblinghaus (XV-XVIII century)

 

House Katzunghaus has bas-reliefs under the windows, depicting scenes of city life. Now, however, this is not the original images, but the cement castings, that appeared after the reconstruction of the mid-19th century. The house was named by the family of Katzung confectioners, who since 1775 and now own a bakery and a cafe.

 

 Innsbruck. Katzunghaus

Katzunghaus
Katzunghaus (XVI-XIX century)

 

Prehthouse was originally the home of Dr. Basilius Precht. Now there is an antique clock shop and watchmaking shop, which is reminiscent of the antique clockwork above the door.

 

 Innsbruck. Prehthouse

Prehthouse
Prechthaus (XV-XVI century)

 

The House with the Golden Roof was built as the residence of the Tyrolean princes. Of course, there is no gold there, the "golden roof" is the roof of the bay window, covered with copper plates.

 

 Innsbruck. House with the Golden Roof (New Court)

House with the Golden Roof (New Court)
Neue Hof mit den Goldenen Dachl (XV century)

Hotel "Golden Eagle" - one of the oldest hotels in Europe. Many famous personalities stayed here: the emperors Charles V and Joseph II, the king of Bavaria Ludwig I, Mozart, Goethe, etc.

 

 Innsbruck. Hotel "Golden Eagle"

Hotel "Golden Eagle"
Gasthof Goldener Adler (XIV-XV century)

 

In the middle of the XIV century Innsbruck already had an urgent need for a special administration building (before that, the clerical services were directly at the place of residence of officials). A house was bought in the center of the city, after a while two more adjoining houses and a tower were added to it. Initially, the tower ended with a spire, but in 1560 it was replaced by a Renaissance bulbous pommel. The Town Hall served the administration until 1897.

 

 Innsbruck. Old Town Hall Innsbruck and the city tower

Old Town Hall Innsbruck and the city tower
 Altes Rathaus Innsbruck (XIV-XV century)

 

The administrative building of the government of the Tyrol province is also called Claudiana, named Claudia Medici (wife of Count Tyrol Leopold V of Habsburg and, later, regent of the underage son Ferdinand Carl)

 

 Innsbruck. Claudiana Palace (Old Government Building)

Claudiana Palace (Old Government Building)
Claudiana (Altes Regierungsgebäude) (XVII century)

Ottoburg is an ancient residential building in the form of a tower. In 1497 the Emperor Maximilian I granted this house to Prince of Anhalt Rudolf, and after the prince the owners of the tower were already completely bourgeois. Probably, hence the name Odd Burg (empty castle), then, apparently, in harmony, transformed into Ottoburg in honor of the legendary founder of Innsbruck, Count Otto of Burgundy.

 

 Innsbruck. Ottoburg

Ottoburg
Ottoburg (XV-XVIII century)

 

The Column of St. Anna was built in 1704 in honor of the expulsion from Innsbruck of the Bavarian Army (during the war for the Spanish heritage). This event occurred on June 26 (the day of St. Anne) in 1703.

 

 Innsbruck.Column of St. Anna

Column of St. Anna
Annasäule (XVIII century)

 

Church of St. Joseph is the one building left from the monastery of the Italian Order of the Virgin Mary servants (servitors). The tower appeared only in the XIX century.

 

 Innsbruck. Church of St. Joseph

Church of St. Joseph
Servitenkirche Sankt Josef (XVII-XIX century)

 

 Innsbruck. Church of St. Joseph

Church of St. Joseph
Servitenkirche Sankt Josef (XVII-XIX century)

 

Another monastery church - St. Heart.
The monastery (the Congregation of the Holy Redeemer - Redemptorist) also survived and even acts - in the photo this building is to the left of the church. But all this is not too - the construction was completed in 1896.

 

 Innsbruck. Church of St. The Heart of Jesus and the Redemptorists Monastery

Church of St. The Heart of Jesus and the Redemptorists Monastery
Herz-Jesu-Kirche (Redemptoristen) (XIX century)

 

Before the construction of his own monastery, the Redemptorists were based in the church of St. John of Nepomuk, then moved to Innsbruck University.

 

 Innsbruck. Church of St. John of Nepomuk

Church of St. John of Nepomuk
Universitätskirche St. Johannes Nepomuk (Johanneskirche) (XVIII century)

 

Monastery of Ursulines was the one educational institution of Innsbruck, where girls could be trained. In 1975 the monastery moved beyond the river, and the former church bought a bank.

 

 Innsbruck. The former church of the Ursulines monastery

The former church of the Ursulines monastery
Ehemalige Ursulinenkirche (XVII century)

 

The palace of Count Sarttain was rebuilt from two neighboring houses in 1686-1689. During World War II, the palace was destroyed by bombing and in 1953 rebuilt.

 

 Innsbruck. Sarnthein Palace

Sarnthein Palace
Palais Sarnthein (XIII-XVIII century)

 

The historical center of Innsbruck ends with the Triumphal arch, erected from the stones of the old city gate on the occasion of the wedding of Emperor Leopold II and the Spanish infanta Maria Ludovica in 1765.

 

 Innsbruck. Triumphal arch

Triumphal arch
Triumphpforte (XVIII century)

 

Further, after the triumphal arch, the street is called Leopoldstrasse and along it you can walk to the southern border of Innsbruck, where there are several interesting sights.
Generally, if you walk along this central axis of the city - HerzogFriedrichStrasse - MariaTheresiaStrasse - Leopoldstrasse, without turning anywhere and without being distracted, the whole Innsbruck from end to end can be traversed in 30-40 minutes.

Guest house "Giant Haimon" is located in the building originally owned by Count Loudron, and he received the name already being sold to the hotel (in 1852)

 

 Innsbruck. Guest house Giant Haimon

Guest house "Giant Haimon"
Riese Haymon gasthaus (XIV-XVII century)

 

This giant Haimon - the main figure of the suburbs and in general Tyrol. The area is called Wilten, it was formed on the ruins of the Roman settlement of Veldiden. According to legend, Haimon, who came to Tyrol from Bavaria, converted to Christianity a certain monk, after which the giant founded the Wilten Abbey, where he himself became a monk. The devil was angry and sent a dragon, to prevent the construction of the monastery, but Haimon killed the dragon and snatched his tongue. All this, allegedly, took place at the end of the 9th century. The statues near and inside the monastery reproduce the story in the faces.
In reality, the church and the monastery are first mentioned in 1138. In the XVII old buildings were completely destroyed and rebuilt.

 

 Innsbruck.Вилтенское аббатство

Wilten Abbey
Stift Wilten (XVII-XVIII century)

 

The Basilica of Wilten is dedicated to the Immaculate Conception of the Mother of God and is also called the basilica of the "Our Lady of the Four Pillars", according to the late late Gothic image of the Mother of God in the altar. According to legend, even the Roman legionaries worshiped the image of Mary in this place. Indeed, under the existing building, the remains of the early Christian church of the 5th century were discovered.

 

 Innsbruck. The Basilica of Wilten

The Basilica of Wilten "Our Lady of the Four Pillars"
Wiltener Basilika (XVIII century)

 

 Innsbruck. Basilica of Wilten

The Basilica of Wilten "Our Lady of the Four Pillars"
Wiltener Basilika (XVIII century)

 

Monastery of Wilten was quite rich - it belonged to almost the entire village, so the abbey was allowed to have a lower court, which was subject to local residents. The courthouse is the oldest Gothic house in Innsbruck.

 

 Innsbruck. Court house

Court house
Leuthaus (XIV century) 

 

Wilten is situated at the foot of the Bergisel mountain. On the mountain is the eponymous springboard for ski jumping. Competitions on the wooden springboard here were held already in 1925, in 1933 the World Cup was held. In 1964, before the Innsbruck Olympic Games, the springboard was rebuilt, the last reconstruction was carried out in 2001. Now the Innsbruck springboard Bergisel takes one of the stages "Tour of the four jumps".

 

 Innsbruck.Springboard Bergisel

Springboard Bergisel
Bergiselschanze

 

Innsbruck, in fact, a small provincial town. If you are interested in sightseeing, not skiing, there's no point in staying long. But, if there is an opportunity, it's worth to stop by.

 

Booking.com 

 

Innsbruck Map
Innsbruck Map

 

Coins of Tyrol

 

To the Travel List